Previously at the ICA - Films

Trinh T Minh-ha: Night Passage

Trinh T Minh-ha: Night Passage

3 Dec 2017

Departing from author Miyazawa Kenji's 1927 novel Milky Way Railroad, in which a young boy boards an intergalactic train on an allegorical journey, Trinh T Minh-ha's Night Passage (2004) follows three characters in a world between fact and fiction as they travel on a night train. Occupying different dream states, Trinh's film ruminates on friendship and loss as a series of vistas through the train's windows alongside the hopes and memories of the journey's companions, from youth to old age.

Born in Vietnam, Trinh T Minh-ha is a filmmaker, writer, composer and Professor of Rhetoric and of Gender and Women's Studies at the University of California, Berkeley. Her work includes eight feature-length films honoured in numerous retrospectives around the world, several large-scale collaborative installations including L’Autre marche (Musée du Quai Branly, Paris 2006-2009), and Old Land New Waters (3rd Guangzhou Triennale, China 2008) and numerous publications including Lovecidal: Walking with The Disappeared (2016), D-Passage: The Digital Way (2013), Elsewhere, Within Here (2011) and Cinema Interval (1999).

She has been the recipient of many awards, including the Wild Dreamer Lifetime Achievement Award at the Subversive Festival, Zagreb, Croatia, 2014, the Lifetime Achievement Award from Women's Caucus for Art, 2012 and the Trailblazers Award, MIPDOC, Cannes Documentary Film, France, 2006.

Night Passage, dirs Trinh T Minh-ha and Jean-Paul Bourdier, 2004, Digi Beta, colour, sound, 98 mins

Enjoy special multibuy prices to buy tickets to multiple films and events in the Trinh T Minh-ha season:

  • Tickets for 2-3 screenings: £7 (full price) / £5 (concessions) / £4 (ICA Members) per ticket
  • Tickets for 4-8 screenings:  £6 (full price) / £4 (concessions) / £3 (ICA Members) per ticket


E.g., 30-07-2021
E.g., 30-07-2021