Mute logo


Mute was founded by Daniel MIller in 1978 with the release of his 7” single, Warm Leatherette/TVOD under the name The Normal. Since then, the label has signed and developed some of the world’s most influential recording artistsincluding Depeche Mode, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, New Order, Liars, Plastikman and Goldfrappand become home to a crop of emerging talent and recent signings such as Arca, Ben Frost, Zola Jesus and Du Blonde.

While maintaining a firmly eclectic roster, from the earliest days of The Normal, Fad Gadget and DAF through to the techno era with artists such as Plastikman/Richie Hawtin and Speedy J, and to the present day, the label has always been a champion of electronic music. Running parallel to its strong commercial track record, the guiding spirit behind Mute has always been one of artistic freedom and creative adventure.